Top 10 Romantic Comedy KDramas

toptenmain

For those of you that are not yet aware, I’m a closet k-dramaholic.

What’s a closet dramaholic? It’s good that you ask- let me explain. It means that I secretly spend all the time I can on watching kdramas.

I think only 2 or 3 of my closer friends are aware of the fact that I am a kdrama freak… pretty much everyone else, including my family, coworkers, etc., are unaware of how unproductively I am spending my time. I’m not sure if they even know what kdramas are. They probably think I spend my evenings bar-hopping in the village and doing basic-b activities with my basic-b friends on the weekends. In reality, I am most likely just drama-marathoning away on my laptop.

Now that I have explained, let me bring you The Top 10 Romantic Comedy KDramas as a expert closet k-dramaholic. Just to be clear, I am a total fluffy romcom girl. Melos, actions, mysteries, fantasy, thrillers, and slice of life are also fine, just as long as there are some sort of romance and comedy hiding in there. I am not picky when it comes kdramas.

Please keep in mind that these kdramas are listed based on on their air dates. I’m sorry, but it’s just too hard to order them based on my personal preference because I feel like I love them all almost equally.

1. You’re Beautiful (2009)

topten1

You’re Beautiful is a classic and this is also my very first kdrama. This show has the cliche gender switch plot, where the main girl disguises herself as a boy to move into an all-boys situation and the main guy starts doubting his sexuality when he falls for ‘him‘… gurl, you know how these stories always go. This drama also has a reverse-harem theme going on, which is always fun. I guarantee that you enjoy this oldie.

2. Secret Garden (2011)

topten2

Another classic and another gender-bender plot, but there’s a twist to this fantasy drama! The main girl and guy somehow end up switching souls, so the main guy takes over the main girl’s body and vice versa. Get ready to pass out from laughing from their hilarious situations. And, gurl, it’s Hyun Bin, so how can you not??

3. The Greatest Love (2011)

tonten3

The leading lady’s popular idol days are of the past and now she is a unwanted extra in the entertainment industry. Meanwhile, the leading man is currently the nation’s hottest actor. What happens when the unlikely pair crosses paths? Bingo- you guessed it! Love will be in the air and, interestingly, love hits the trendy leading man first. I just can’t help but love kdramas where the guy falls for the girl first. This this like the foundation and principal that romcom kdramas are built on. A big plus, Gong Hyo Jin plays the leading lady and she almost never disappoints with her romcom fluff.

4. Queen In Hyun’s Man (2012)

tonten4

Queen In Hyun’s Man is one of those hidden gems that, unfortunately, did not get as much hype as it should have. This actually gave me quite a fun ride with their time-travel twist. A man from the Joseon period accidentally discovers a way to travel to the future, where he meets a aspiring actress who has taken up a kdrama role (drama-inception, oooh~) as a queen of the Joseon period. I think the concept of time travel was used beautifully to build up this love story- better than some of the other more popular time-travel dramas that are out there. Wayy better.

5. Haeundae Lovers (2012)

tonten5

Let’s be honest- it’s not a kdrama without some goddamn memory loss thrown into the mix. But, don’t worry, this time the drama gods have used memory loss towards a greater good. The main girl is a daughter of a former mob boss and the hot cop that is on to her family’s case looses his memory from an accident during investigation. And it’s not like a baby memory loss- it’s a serious case of memory loss where the guy legit forgets his entire identity and life. The main girl takes in the poor no-memory guy and hilarious romance soon ensues them. This is another low-key amazing drama, and I found this drama especially endearing and warm to the heart ❤

6. Master’s Sun (2013)

topten6

Oh, look what we have here- another Gong Hyo Jin drama. This is one of those rare dramas that combines horror/thriller with romcom and I fcking loved it. Drama gods, please make more of these. It’s all scare-the-shit-outta-me one minute and all cutesy romance the next minute. The main girl can see ghosts, but they seem to disappear when she is in contact with the rich and cold CEO of a large mall. They are always rich and cold, are’t they… but I’m not complaining- throw all the rich, cold, and sexy CEOs you want at me.

7. You Who Came From the Stars (2013)

tonten7

It’s the boss lady, Jun Ji Hyun, and when it’s Jun Ji Hyun you better watch it. I don’t think I even need to explain why this drama is on my top 10 list. You all probably watched this already, so I’m gonna save my explanation. The only thing I will say is this- before You Who Came From the Stars, I would have never considered marrying a 400-year-old alien. It’s a entirely different story now.

8. Let’s Eat (2013)

topten8

You like food? Welcome to the club- here we watch beautiful people stuff their mouth’s with mouth-watering food in every single episode. I started this drama as something to pass time as I wait for my other dramas to come out, but I fell in love with the sweet romance, I grew hungry from the delicious food scenes, and I was kept on my toes from the spooky murder case. You heard me- there’s a murder case.

9. Marriage, Not Dating (2014)

topten9

Pretend dating, the cliche we all can’t help but indulge in- I gotchu, gurl. The leading lady and man pretends to be in a romantic relationship to mute their parents’ wishes for them to get married. Aside from the choco. ab-generating laughter, I liked that we get to see the personal development of the main girl. She started the dramas as a desperate girl that no guy wanted, but grew to be confident and independent. At one point, she had like 3 guys pining for her (I’m looking at you, you reverse-harem fans).

10. Shopping King Louie (2016)

topten10

What’s going on with all this baby pink, you ask? It’s fluffy romantic comedy to the max, that’s what the hell this is. This is a more recent drama and, ofc, centers around the memory loss of the main guy. Memory loss in here, memory loss in there, memory loss everywhere~ A country-side girl journeys to Seoul to find her missing brother, but the only guy that seems to have a clue to her brother’s whereabouts losses all of his memories. She takes in him in and helps him regain his memories to get her brother back. Also, the main guy may not remember, but he is a mega-rich third generation chaebol.

Whew, we’re finally at the end of this long list.

I hope that you find this insightful, maybe one of these kdramas have caught your eye. And do please keep this in mind that this is a list of the top pure fluffy romcom dramas. So don’t go wondering why the hell Goblin, DOTS, I Hear Your Voice or Reply 1988 isn’t on this list. I left out the more slice of life, action, deeper meaning, or strictly romance dramas out on purpose. Let’s save that for another day- it’s a date <3~

Last, but not least, let me present to you some of my honorable mentions:

Personal Taste (2010)

Playful Kiss (2010)

Prosecutor Princess (2010)

Witch’s Romance (2014)

Lucky Romance (2016)

Strong Woman Do Bong Soo (2017)

Author: thecrazyandlazy

Based in New York City, I'm all about snacking, drama-ing, skincare, online shopping, and anything green tea-ed or matcha powdered. Join me on these everyday experiences through my reviews and rants. Follow me on IG for more: @_skincare_nerd

Leave a comment