KBeauty Review: Nature Republic Bee Venom Emulsion

HeyHeyHey, I’m back with another Korean skincare product review. As you’ve probably already noticed, there’s all sorts of crazy ingredients in these Asian skincare products, like snail secretion, donkey milk, mushroom necks, snake venom, etc., etc.- you name it, they use it.

So ofc, there’s got to be a bee venom product out there right? Abso-fcking-lutely. This brings me to the leading lady of today’s review: Nature Republic’s Bee Venom Emulsion

So, my reasons for trying out this exotic concoction is: one, I’ve tried the Mist Essence from this line and it was amazeballs and , two, it claims to be for acne-prone skin because it contains salicylic acid to fight breakouts and 70% bee venom to unclog pores/buildup.

I purchased this from a Nature Republic store location in NYC for about 30 USD and I have to admit this is a pretty stupid spur-of-the-moment purchase. I could’ve looked up this product online and see that it easily retails for no more than 15 USD. So the store location up-charged me by a 100% for this- thanks for that, now I’m going to avoid that location like I’m avoiding a fcking plague.

17813940_1684986444861305_1072869416_n

The bottle of product is a bit taller than 7 in. (~17.78 cm) and the mouth of the bottle is not the most conventional opening for any type of skincare product. The bottle is made of a hard plastic that you can’t squeeze, so the only way to get product out of that opening is to shake the bottle until something spills out (hopefully in an appropriate amount).

The texture of the emulsion is super nice- it’s light and just the right amount of creamy. The problem is that is doesn’t absorb well, it just sits on my skin like a sticky and moist film. You can see that I applied the emulsion on the back of my hand and, after massaging & patting into my skin, it leaves a shiny finish. Normally, products that my skin drinks up leave a nice matte-ish and smooth finish. When I apply this to my face, the shiny and sticky finish is even more apparent than compared to the back of my hand. I feel like a total grease-ball. Just ugh -____-

As for the scent of the product, it’s not overpowering, but it’s a strong refreshing scent of something similar to ginger and honey. Maybe this is what Nature Republic imagined bee venom to smell like. Not a bad scent at all, I actually quite like it. The scent doesn’t linger long, give it an hour or so to fade almost completely.

This emulsion is said to be for acne-prone skin, but it’s really hard to imagine it helping my skin with the way that it just sits awkwardly on my face. The formula makes me oilier that I already am and I am a very, very oily-skinned person. I feel like the greasy product will just clog my pores more so than it already is and lead to breakouts.

I don’t plan on using this routinely, maybe only for my dry winter skin days. I give this disappointing emulsion a 1.75 out of 5 stars because of its hard to absorb formula and the horrible bottle design. Especially for the price that I paid, this emulsion is def not worth it.

Author: thecrazyandlazy

Based in New York City, I'm all about snacking, drama-ing, skincare, online shopping, and anything green tea-ed or matcha powdered. Join me on these everyday experiences through my reviews and rants ^__^

Leave a Reply

