KDrama Review: Goblin- The Lonely and Great God

goblin

I just finished watching Goblin– I know I’m late as hell, this drama finished airing like ages ago. The truth is I deliberately took a break from this drama after episode 14, but not because it got boring or bad. It was actually because I didn’t want it to end.

I was depressed that my Friday & Saturday evenings will no longer be the same. I grew so attached to the characters and story-line that it’s borderline embarrassing to tell people about it; and I felt as though as an important part of me was leaving along with the series. I was dying to find out how the writers ended their story, but I was also simultaneously rejecting the fact that the story is over and that it’s time for me to return to reality.

There has been major hype around this drama even before it started airing, but it is all very much well-deserved. If you can’t already tell, I love this drama to pieces. Like pull up your list of all-time Kdrama faves (Secret Garden, You Who Came From the Stars, You’re Beautiful, Descendants of the Sun, etc.) and cross them all out because Goblin easily beats them to the #1 spot. That’s just how good this drama was.

Since, my review is simple- this is amazing, go watch it!- I am switching gears and turning this into a 5 Reasons Why You Have to Watch Goblin post.

1.The Genre

goblin1.PNG

A Goblin, a Grim Reaper, a girl who can see ghosts, and deities? Oh fck yasss. I am always intrigued with the fantasy genre because it gives shows a unique and slightly chilling twist. Not only is this a fantasy, it is also interlaced with amazing comedy, romance, and melo. I would also like to point out that this is a tvN drama, so you know it will be at least decent because of their previous hit dramas and willingness to try refreshing new storylines.

2.The Cast

goblin3

What makes a show about Goblins and Reapers even better? Ofc, when they are also hot as fck. I am crying over how perfect the drama line-up is TT_TT

Gong Yoo, Lee Dong Wook, Yoo In Na, and Kim Go Eun. I don’t think a cast can be more beautiful and talented than this, like this is the best it is ever going to get. I have watched the main casts’ other works and their acting was the seed that brought this storyline to life. You will also notice a few other gems in the supporting cast and cameos, which only adds to the drama’s awesomeness.

3.The Romance, or shall I say the Bromance?

goblin2

The bromance that was brewing between Goblin and Reaper was pure fcking gold, I was looking forward to their scenes more than I was for all the other love lines combined. How can 2 adult men that are hundreds of  years old still be so childish? They made me laugh and cry so much during the 16 episodes, that I’m pretty sure the emotional roller coaster ride I’ve been through left me severely damaged.

The chemistry between the 2 other love lines (Goblin and Eun Tak, Reaper and Sunny) is also spilling off the screen, so if you are not interested in the bromance (how can you not be tho), there is the sweet and sad romance between the leads to look forward to. There is none of that love-triangle/square/hexagon bull, just simple OTP romance. The age gap between Goblin, a man that looks to be about 30 years old, and Eun Tak, a high school student, may seem a little awkward at first, but I promise, you will soon get over it with their overpowering chemistry and storyline.

4.The Cinematography

This whole serious was filmed with beautiful camera work. I felt like I was indulging in a high-budget movie instead of a TV drama. The lighting and camera angles gives off that nostalgic, pure, and romantic feel. The graphics for the more magical sci-fi scenes were incorporated realistically. The locations they filmed at were stunning, think like buckwheat fields at night, the ocean on a stormy day, and the French-influenced Quebec, Canada.

 5.The OST

The entire OST, yes all damn 14 parts, was pure angel bells to the ears. The vocals (just to throw some names out there- Chanyoel EXO, Eddie Kim, Sam Kim, Roy Kim, Soyou Sistar, Ailee, Mamamoo, and so on) and the tunes threw scenes of the drama to the next fcking level. This OST has been topping several music charts for some time and this is really what finished the packaging to this amazing Kdrama. The OST is actually on my phone right now and it’s what I listen to as I reminisce about the series on my commute to school and work.

I give this drama a 10 out of 10. This drama is not just all fanatical creatures and sad romance. It also explored the deeper meaning behind life and death, and the speculated space and time between the two. It makes you see how fragile yet determined a life really is, and how beautiful life is despite the bad, evil and unfortunate. It also restores your belief that there just might be miracles in this world and that we are being protected by a supernatural beyond us all.

No matter if others may see the bad and the good that is done, it will be rewarded and punished accordingly when the appropriate time comes. It made me see that there is an order in this world and that there is a important fate in every being. It makes me rethink my actions and my surroundings. I am not a superstitious or religious person, like at all, but for me to develop perspectives like these from a drama, this goes to show how much impact and change Goblin has made on me.

Now that I’ve exposed my deep feelings for Goblin, tell me all about yours- did you enjoy this Kdrama as much as I did? and, if you haven’t watched it yet, well why the hell not?!

Author: thecrazyandlazy

Based in New York City, I'm all about snacking, drama-ing, skincare, online shopping, and anything green tea-ed or matcha powdered. Join me on these everyday experiences through my reviews and rants ^__^

Leave a Reply

