Skincare Review: St. Ives Green Tea Scrub

As soon as I see or hear the 2 words green tea or matcha I’m immediately like, Shut up and take my damn money already. This brings us to the topic of our review today~ the St. Ives’ Green Tea Scrub. I spotted this when I was shopping on Amazon and just had to try this out. The reviews were raving and the price is relatively low, as like all other St. Ives products. I just got this in the mail earlier today and I’m already using this because I’m just too excited to try this baby out. Thus, this will be a first impression review because I’ve only used it once.

16996727_1639412932751990_208874691_n

Whoever shipped this wrapped the shit out of it. There was saran wrap, bubble wrap, and paper all over. This green tea scrub is a exfoliator on the gentler side and it’s suppose to:

-clear blackheads

-calm redness

-treat acne

-prevent blackheads & acne blemishes from forming

-unclog dirt & oil from pores

The scrub is in the usual St. Ives tube, which usually lasts me like at least half a year. Compared to the higher end or Kbeauty facial exfoliators, this is definitely a bang for your buck.

The scrub is a pretty shade of light green, which resembles the shade of matcha powder. In the close-up image below, you can see that there is no exfoliating beads in the scrub, like St. Ives’ other exfoliators and instead, it has a fine sandy texture. I’m also giving this thing bonus points for smelling like a green tea frap from Starbucks because everyone knows that drink is the eff’ing best if you can ignore the calories it comes with. 

17006042_1639471052746178_1591230441_n
16997115_1639471056079511_973401938_n

16996944_1639471066079510_313477334_n

As for what they claim to do, I noted the passes in green and the mehs/fails in red.

-clear blackheads

I wouldn’t exactly say that it clears blackheads, but I did notice that right after using this scrub, some of my blackheads surfaced and made it easier for me to extract with a blackhead remover. So in a way it does help clear blackhead.

-calm redness

Honestly, I see no difference in the redness of my face before and after using the scrub. Even though this is green tea flavored, this is a exfoliating scrub, so I didn’t actually believe it was going to get rid of redness anyways.

-treat acne

One of the ingredients in this scrub is 1% of Salicylic Acid, which is the oldest trick in the book to treat acne. Salicylic does not work for everyone and I fall into this group, so it did not treat my acne. But for those that do benefit Salicylic, this scrub may help treat acne with more uses, so do give this a try.

-prevent blackheads & acne blemishes from forming

Umm, I’m not sure how this product will prevent blackheads and acne blemishes, but I ain’t falling for this claim smh. I do, however, believe that with continued use, the scrub will help control blackheads and promote the fading of acne blemishes/scars because the scrub gets rid of dead skin and encourage the growth of new skin cells.

-unclog dirt & oil from pores

Like I mentioned before, the brought out my blackheads, so the sandy texture of the scrub is doing its job of unclogging dirt from my pores. My face felt very fresh, smooth and clean afterwards, so double thumbs up for meeting this product claim!

Despite all the red claims, I still give this a 4 out of 5 because it does its job of exfoliating, it smells and feel nice, and the price is on point, gurl. I do plan on using this regularly on my exfoliating days. Whoever marketed this product was just trying really heard to sell with their exaggerated and impossible claims- nice try tho.

Author: thecrazyandlazy

Based in New York City, I'm all about snacking, drama-ing, skincare, online shopping, and anything green tea-ed or matcha powdered. Join me on these everyday experiences through my reviews and rants ^__^

Leave a Reply

